BGE offers a curriculum based on the English National Curriculum. While this is the basis for what we teach - with a significant emphasis on the development of core skills - all our students are given opportunities to learn from their context here in East Africa. Many of the learning experiences are therefore based on ‘real’, meaningful interactions from group-based investigations to outdoor learning and from whole schooled themed days (e.g. Space Day) to individual tasks differentiated for the needs of the child.

In the Early Years (ages 2 to 5), pupils follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) The prime areas of learning are: communication and language; physical development; personal, social and emotional development. The specific areas of learning are: literacy; mathematics; understanding the world; expressive arts and design. Teaching is often done through play, where the child learns about subjects and other people through games.

In Key Stage One (ages 5 to 7, Years One and Two), pupils begin to embed key skills such as phonics (the sounds) and an understanding of number as well a rich range of other learning experiences including subjects like music, Physical Education and humanities.

In Key Stage Two (ages 7 to 11, Years Three to Six), pupils are given opportunities to continue developing skills while developing more independence, responsibility and a sense of right and wrong. While the building blocks of Primary Education are built on English, Maths and Science (the ‘core’ subjects), a broad and balanced curriculum is provided with Performing Arts, Music, Art and Sport playing crucial roles in our attempts to develop the whole child.

In Key Stage Three (ages 11 to 14, Years Seven to Nine), pupils focus to a much greater extent on high order concepts that will enable them to engage with the more challenging curricula of IGCSE and the IB Diploma. While homework is introduced as early as Year One (where students engage in simple tasks to reinforce key skills), the expectations and demands increase steadily as pupils move through the school. This helps develop: Confident Individuals, Responsible Citizens, Learners Enjoying Success, which is at the heart of what we want our Braeburn students to be.

Key Stage Four allows students to choose and study a selection of Cambridge IGCSE courses. These rigorous and demanding courses are recognised worldwide and facilitate progression to our pre-university courses.

Finally Key Stage Five encompasses 2 courses, the International Baccalaurate (IB) Diploma and the International Baccalaurate Career Certificate. We have been delivering the IB courses for over 10 years and consistently exceed the IB world average pass grades.

In summary, BGE comprises as follows:

Early Years Unit Ages 2-5 Crèche, Nursery & Reception
Key Stage 1 Ages 5-7 Years 1 and 2
Key Stage 2 Ages 7-11 Years 3, 4, 5 and 6
Key Stage 3 Ages 11-14 Years 7, 8 and 9
Key Stage 4 Ages 14-16 Years 10 and 11 (Cambridge IGCSE courses)
Key Stage 5 Ages 16-18 IB Diploma /ICPC
Council of International Schools
Council of British International Schools
The Independent Association of Prep Schools
BTEC Level 3
Cambridge International Examinations
IB World School Status
GL Education Assessment Excellence